Dharma Notes

The Four Noble Truths
    The existence of suffering
    The origin of suffering
    The cessation of suffering
    The path for the cessation of suffering

    Relative or Worldly Truth (Sambriti Satya)
    Absolute Truth (Paramartha Satya)

    Impermanence (anitya) 
    Nonself (anatman)

    Emptiness (shunyata)
    Signlessness (animitta)
    Aimlessness (apranihita)

    Dharmakaya, the source of enlightenment and happiness 
    Sambhogakaya, the body of bliss or enjoyment 
    Nirmanakaya, the historical embodiment of the Buddha    


    Love (Sanskrit maitri; in Paliit is metta)
    Compassion (karuna) 
    Joy (mudita)
    Equanimity (upeksha in Sanskrit and upekkha in Pali)

    Aversion, Ill Will
    Sloth & Torpor
    Anxiety / Restlessness

    mental formations


    Dana Paramita – giving, offering, generosity. 
    Shila Paramita – precepts or mindfulness trainings
    Kshanti Paramita – inclusiveness, the capacity to receive, bear,and transform the pain inflicted on you by your enemies and also by those who love you
    Virya Paramita – diligence,energy, perseverance
    Dhyana Paramita – meditation
    Prajña Paramita – wisdom, insight, understanding. Practicing the Six Paramitas helps us to reach the other shore

    investigation of phenomena
    letting go


The Twelve Links of Interdependent Co-Arising
    Volitional Actions
    Mind / Body
    Six Sense Organs & Their Objects
    Coming to Be
    Old Age & Death

    Reverence for Life
    True Happiness
    True Love
    Loving Speech and Deep Listening
    Nourishment and Healing

    The First Mindfulness Training: Openness
    The Second Mindfulness Training:Non-attachment to Views
    The Third Mindfulness Training: Freedom of Thought
    The Fourth Mindfulness Training: Awareness of Suffering
    The Fifth Mindfulness Training: Compassionate, Healthy Living
    The Sixth Mindfulness Training: Taking Care of Anger
    The Seventh Mindfulness Training: Dwelling Happily in the Present Moment
    The Eighth Mindfulness Training: True Community and Communication
    The Ninth Mindfulness Training: Truthful and Loving Speech
    The Tenth Mindfulness Training: Protecting and Nourishing the Sangha
    The Eleventh Mindfulness Training: Right Livelihood
    The Twelfth Mindfulness Training: Reverence for Life
    The Thirteenth Mindfulness Training: Generosity
    The Fourteenth Mindfulness Training: True Love

    (see link for all 51)

Eight Worldly Winds (Vicissitudes)
    Pleasure & Pain
    Gain & Loss
    Praise & Blame
    Fame & Disrepute

Five stages to calm our body and mind
    Looking Deeply

Turning the Wheel of the Dharma
    Middle Way
    Four Noble Truths    
    Engagement in the World

The Four Metta Phrases
    May I be free from danger
    May I be happy
    May I be healthy
    May I love with ease

The Five Remembrances
    I am of the nature to grow old. There is no way to escape growing old.
    I am of the nature to have ill-health. There is no way to escape having ill-health.
    I am of the nature to die. There is no way to escape death.
    All that is dear to me and everyone I love are of the nature to change. There is no way to escape being separated from them.
    I inherit the results of my actions in body, speech, and mind. My actions are the ground on which I stand.

Four Gratitudes
    Gratitude to parents, teachers, friends, and all beings.

The Three Realms
    The Desire Realm (where we are attached to sensual desire)
    Form and Formless Realms (where we are attached to the pleasures of meditative concentration).

    The three collections of discourses, precepts, and commentaries.

Six Elements of True Love
    Letting Go

The Five Contemplation
  1. This food is a gift of the whole universe, the earth, the sky, numerous living beings and much hard, loving work.
  2. May we eat with mindfulness and gratitude so as to be worthy to receive this food.
  3. May we recognize and transform our unwholesome mental formation, especially our greed, and learn to eat with moderation.
  4. May we keep our compassion alive by eating in such a way that we reduce the suffering of living beings, stops contributing to climate change, and heals and preserves our precious planet.
  5. We accept this food so that we may nurture our brotherhood and sisterhood, strengthen our Sangha and nourish our ideal of serving all living beings.

The Six Concords taught by the Buddha as guidelines for monastic community practice are 

  1. sharing space
  2. sharing the essentials of daily life
  3. observing the same precepts
  4. using only words that contribute to harmony,
  5. sharing insights and understanding
  6. respecting each other's viewpoints
Five Awarenesses
  1. We are aware that all generations of our ancestors and all future generations are present in us.
  2. We are aware of the expectations that our ancestors, our children, and their children have of us.
  3. We are aware that our joy, peace, freedom, and harmony are the joy, peace, freedom, and harmony of our ancestors, our children, and their children.
  4. We are aware that understanding is the very foundation of love.
  5. We are aware that blaming and arguing never help us and only create a wider gap between us, that only understanding, trust, and love can help us change and grow.
The Four Wrong Perceptions
    Something that is impure, we call pure
    Something that is painful, we call pleasurable
    Something that is impermanent, we call permanent
    Something that is no-self, we say it has a self

The Four Kinds of Nutriments
    Edible Food
    Sensory Impressions

The Four Mind Turnings (The Preliminaries, 
    The freedoms and advantages of precious human rebirth
    The truth of impermanence and change
    The workings of karma
    The suffering of living beings within samsara

The Three Kinds of Pride 
  1. Thinking I am better than the other(s)
  2. Thinking I am worse than the other(s)
  3. Thinking I am just as good as the other(s)
Subpages (28): View All